Baltimore Folk Music Society

Share

Wednesday Night Contra & Square Dances


The Baltimore Folk Music Society presents American Contra and Square Dancing at 8:00 p.m. to 10:30 PM every Wednesday at Lovely Lane United Methodist Church, 2200 St. Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21218. Admission is $9 for members, $13 for nonmembers. Under 21 and full-time students with IDs: $4 members, $6 non-members.

All dances are taught and walked through beforehand. Music and dance styles include New England, Southern Appalachian, and Celtic styles. Nationally-known musicians and callers appear regularly. These dances are sponsored in part by a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council.

New Dancers' workshops:
Free workshops introducing basic contra dance figures take place every Wednesday at 7:30p.m. Beginners are encouraged to attend. Contra dance FAQs.

Please see our Behavior Policy

For more information call the BFMS hotline at 888-646-BFMS or email amdance at bfms.org.

Directions to Lovely Lane Church

Facebook Group
Check our Facebook group for the latest information.

Wednesday, January 23 2019 
Shane Knudsen calls to Backstep Cindy - Sandy Hofferth (fiddle), Howard Zane (banjo), Joe Langley (guitar), and Art Abrams (bass).
 
Wednesday, January 30 2019 
April Blum calls to Elke Baker (fiddle) and Paul Oorts (guitar).
 
Wednesday, February 06 2019 
Caroline Barnes calls to Tea and Honey -Rebecca Weiss (fiddle), Colleen Holroyd (fiddle), Sophie Chang (cello), and Bobby LaRose (piano).
 
Wednesday, February 13 2019 
Ann Fallon calls to the Lovely Lane String Band - Brenna Hogan (fiddle), Shane Knudsen (fiddle), John Sauer (guitar), Jay White (banjo), and Artie Abrams (bass).
 
Wednesday, February 20 2019 
Kappy Laning calls to The Baltimore Open Band. Special Event: The Charm City Rapper Sword Dancing team will be performing during the break.
 
Wednesday, February 27 2019 
Susan Taylor calls to Devine Comedy - Steve Hickman (fiddle), Marty Taylor (pennywhistle, concertina), and John Devine (guitar).
 
Wednesday, March 06 2019 
Anne Lutun calls to Sugar Beat - Elke Baker (fiddle), Susan Brandt (flute), and Marc Glickman (piano).
 
Wednesday, March 13 2019 
TBA Calls to Unbowed
 
Wednesday, March 20 2019 
The Too Hot Mamas (Susan Taylor and Janine Smith) call to the Dead Sea Squirrels.
 
Wednesday, March 27 2019 
Rodney Sutton calls to Devine Comedy - Steve Hickman (fiddle). Marty Taylor (concertina, whistle), and John Devine (guitar).
 
Wednesday, April 03 2019 
Ann Fallon calls to Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Henry Koretzky (guitar), and Bruce Campbell (bass).
 
Wednesday, April 10 2019 

TBA calls to Wild Wombats of the Chesapeake- Carl Friedman (fiddle), Robin Wilson (flute, concertina, sax), Janina OBrien (piano), and Ralph Barthine (guitar).


 
Wednesday, May 15 2019 
TBA calls to Kingfisher - Cecilia Vacanti (fiddle) and Jeff Kaufman (piano).(Pending)
 
Wednesday, May 22 2019 
Alexandra Deis-Lauby calls to Tim Ball (fiddle) and Harry Aceto (guitar).
 
Wednesday, June 19 2019 
Kelsey Hartman calls to The Nettles - Laura Brophy (fiddle), Kevin Johnsrude (guitar), and Michael Proctor (bass).
 
Wednesday, July 03 2019 
Quena Crain calls to The Long Pond Rounders - Jonah Sidman (Fiddle), Corey Walters (Flute, Mandolin), Michael Friedman (Piano), Ness Smith-Savedoff (Percussion), and Ross Harriss (Sax/Guitar).
 
Wednesday, August 07 2019 
TBA calls to Matthew Christian (fiddle) and Max Carmichael (guitar). (Pending)
 
Wednesday, November 13 2019 
The Too Hot Mamas (Janine Smith and Susan Taylor) call to the Dead Sea Squirrels: Craig Edwards (fiddle), Cathy Mason (fiddle), and Henry Yoshimura (guitar).

 
Wednesday, January 08 2020 
Kalia Kliban calls to TBA