Baltimore Folk Music Society

Share

Combined Event Listing

All events in our calendar. Events are BFMS Sponsored unless indicated.


Select a type of event to display and click Submit


All Events

Sunday, April 19 2015 (Member Sponsored) 
House Concert with Rupert Wates
Suggested donation:$15.00. For reservations and directions: Wendy Rambo Shuford, ramboshuford@aol.com or 410-532-5604. (doors open at 4:30 PM)
 
Monday, April 20 2015 
English Country Dance
Adina Gordon calls to Jeff Steinberg (violin), Marty Taylor (winds, concertina), and Carl Friedman (piano)
 
Wednesday, April 22 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Greg Frock calls to Taylor Among the Devils - Marty Taylor (whistles, concertina), Steve Hickman (fiddle), and Jonathan Jensen (piano, ocarina). New dancer's workshop at 7:30 pm.
 
Sunday, April 26 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at Towson Unitarian Universalist Church
 
Monday, April 27 2015 
English Country Dance
Tom Spilsbury calls to Becky Ross (violin), Heather Martley (flute), and Jonathan Jensen (piano, etc.)
 
Wednesday, April 29 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Brian Hamshar calls to Contra Rebels - Todd Clewell (fiddle), Barb Schmid (fiddle), and Henry Koretzky (guitar).
 
Monday, May 04 2015 
English Country Dance
Free New Dancer orientation at 7:45
April Blum calls to Steve Epstein (clarinet), David Crandall (flute, sax), and Mark Vidor (accordion)
 
Wednesday, May 06 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Susan Taylor calls to Gigmeisters - Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Paul Oorts (mandolin, accordion), Ralph Gordon (bass), and Dave Wiesler (piano, guitar).
 
Saturday, May 09 2015 
Family Dance
Kim Forry calls to Some Assembly with Joe Klausner (Fiddle, Mandolin and Banjo), Mary Corletta Flora (Flute, Saxophone, Penny Whistles and all manner of Wind Instruments), Donna Blylan (Piano and Accordian), Adam Lee (Guitar) and Iain Sturrock (Piano, Guitar and Cajon).

 
Saturday, May 09 2015 
2nd Saturday Dance
Kim Forry calls to Some Assembly with Joe Klausner (Fiddle, Mandolin and Banjo), Mary Corletta Flora (Flute, Saxophone, Penny Whistles and all manner of Wind Instruments), Donna Blylan (Piano and Accordian), Adam Lee (Guitar) and Iain Sturrock (Piano, Guitar and Cajon).
 
Monday, May 11 2015 
English Country Dance
Diane Schmit calls to Tina Chancey (violin etc.), Paul Oorts (strings, accordion), and Jonathan Jensen (piano, etc.)
 
Wednesday, May 13 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Janine Smith calls to Triple Helix- Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Colleen Reed (flute, sax), and Keith Gillis (guitar). New dancer's workshop at 7:30 pm.
 
Monday, May 18 2015 
English Country Dance
Rich Galloway calls to Jeff Steinberg (violin), Robin Wilson (flute, concertina), and Ben Hobbs (piano)
 
Wednesday, May 20 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Perry Shafran calls to Dance du Jour - Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Ralph Gordon (bass), and Liz Donaldson (piano).
 
Thursday, May 21 2015 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:30-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Saturday, May 23 2015 
Swallowtail Dance
The Baltimore Folk Music Society welcomes famed New England band Swallowtail to Baltimore once again for an evening of challenging contras. This is one of the nation's most popular and sought-after bands, known for high energy music and smooth grooves. The dances called will be of the more challenging variety, with smooth flow and figures that get you moving. Tickets are on sale now.
 
Sunday, May 24 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at Towson Unitarian Universalist Church
 
Monday, May 25 2015 
English Country Dance
Susan Taylor calls to Carl Friedman (violin) and Janina O’Brien (piano)
 
Wednesday, May 27 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
TBA calls to Devine Comedy - Marty Taylor (whistles, concertina), Steve Hickman (fiddle), and John Devine (guitar). New dancer's workshop at 7:30 pm.
 
Wednesday, June 03 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Will Mentor calls to Nova - Kathleen Fownes (fiddle), Guillaume Sparrow-Pepin (accordion, piano), and Everest Witman (guitar, feet).
 
Wednesday, June 10 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Ken Gall calls to Entwyned - Twy Bethard (fiddle, feet), and John Paolillo (mandolins). New dancer workshop at 7:30 pm.
 
Saturday, June 13 2015 
2nd Saturday Dance
TBA Caller and Band
 
Wednesday, June 17 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Jerome Grisanti calls to STEAM! - David Firestine (mandolins), Alice Boyle (fiddle), Robert Rosenberg (guitar, banjo), and Claire Zucker (bodhran, concertina, clogging, vocals).
 
Thursday, June 18 2015 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:30-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Friday, June 19 2015 
Catoctin Weekend
30th Annual Spring Catoctin Mountain Music and Dance Weekend Friday June 19 to Sunday June 21 - 2015 - Registration is OPEN
 
Wednesday, June 24 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Sue Gola calls to TBA. New dancer orientation at 7:30 pm.
 
Sunday, June 28 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at Towson Unitarian Universalist Church
 
Wednesday, July 01 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Rich Goss calls to Tempest - Tim Ball (fiddle), Chuck Abell (guitar, mandolin), and Jamie Kubala (drums, percussion).
 
Wednesday, July 08 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Chuck Abell calls to Sugar Beat - Elke Baker (fiddle), Susan Brandt (flute, cajon), and Marc Glickman (piano, bodhran). New dancer workshop at 7:30 pm.
 
Saturday, July 11 2015 
2nd Saturday Dance
Band and Caller TBA
 
Wednesday, July 15 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
TBA calls to Black Oranges - Sarah Foard (fiddle), Gary Prince (guitar), and Manny Arciniega (percussion).
 
Thursday, July 16 2015 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:30-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Wednesday, July 22 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
TBA calls to TBA. New dancer orientation at 7:30 pm.
 
Sunday, July 26 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at Towson Unitarian Universalist Church
 
Wednesday, July 29 2015 
Square/Contra Dance
Emily Rush calls to ContraForce - Andrae Raffield (fiddle), Jimi "Two Nails" Periano (guitar), and Joey Dorwart (drums, percussion, saxophone).
 
Saturday, August 08 2015 
2nd Saturday Dance
Band: Firefly Cedar Stanistreet (fiddle), Rebecca Bosworth-Clemens (clarinet) and Jon Cannon (guitar/foot percussion) Caller: TBA
 
Sunday, August 23 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at Towson Unitarian Universalist Church
 
Sunday, September 27 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at Towson Unitarian Universalist Church
 
Friday, October 09 2015 
BFMS40
Oct 9-11, 2015
2015 marks the 40th Anniversary year for BFMS. A committee is planning a wonderful celebration for all on the second weekend in October.
 
Saturday, October 10 2015 
Family Dance
Band and Caller TBA
 
Sunday, October 25 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at Towson Unitarian Universalist Church
 
Saturday, November 14 2015 
Family Dance
Band and Caller TBA
 
Sunday, November 22 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
We do not meet in November. Come join us for Tellabration!
 
Saturday, December 12 2015 
Family Dance
Band and Caller TBA
 
Sunday, December 27 2015 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
We do not meet in December