Baltimore Folk Music Society

Share

Combined Event Listing

All events in our calendar. Events are BFMS Sponsored unless indicated.


Select a type of event to display and click Submit


All Events

Monday, July 04 2016 
English Country Dance
NO DANCE! Enjoy the fireworks!
 
Wednesday, July 06 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Susan Taylor calls to Marty Taylor (whistles, concertina), Elke Baker (fiddle), and Jonathan Jensen (piano).
 
Saturday, July 09 2016 
2nd Saturday Dance
Quena Crain calls to The Long Pond Rounders: Jonah Sidman: fiddle, Corey Walters: Flute & Mandolin, Michael Friedman: Piano & foot percussion & Ness Smith-Savedoff on percussion.
Picnic before the Dance starting at 6:00 PM
Bring something to eat and share if you wish.
Workshop for beginners starts at 7:30pm and the dance begins at 8:00.
Bring a snack to share at break & bring a friend.
Check out their music Jonah, Ross, Michael: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEyTKvC0m_Q Jonah, Corey, Michael: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOocSzIoJvQ
 
Monday, July 11 2016 
English Country Dance

Free New Dancer Orientation at 7:45
Ann Fallon calls to Becky Ross (violin), Robin Wilson (flute, concertina), and Jonathan Jensen (piano and more)


 
Wednesday, July 13 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Quena Crain calls to the Long Pond Rounders: Jonah Sidman (fiddle), Corey Walters (flute, mandolin), Ross Harris (sax, guitar), Ness-Smith Savedoff (percussion), and Michael Friedman (piano, feet). New dancer orientation at 7:30 pm.
 
Monday, July 18 2016 
English Country Dance

Carl Friedman calls to the fabulous Geud Band of Baltimore


 
Wednesday, July 20 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Ann Fallon calls to Some Assembly: Joe Klausner (fiddle, mandolin), Mary Corletta Flora (flute), Donna Boylan (piano), Adam Lee (guitar), and Ian Sturrock (percussion, guitar).
 
Thursday, July 21 2016 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:00-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Sunday, July 24 2016 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at the Pickersgill Retirement Community
 
Monday, July 25 2016 
English Country Dance
April Blum calls to Barbara Gorin (strings), Marty Taylor (winds, concertina), and Janina O'Brien (piano)
 
Wednesday, July 27 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Kim Forry calls to the Contra Rebels: Todd Clewell (fiddle), Barb Schmid (fiddle), Henry Koretzky (guitar), and Bruce Campbell (bass). New dancer orientation at 7:30 pm.
 
Monday, August 01 2016 
English Country Dance
Free New Dancer Orientation at 7:45

Sharon McKinley calls to Becky Ross (violin), Steve Epstein (clarinet), and Janina O'Brien (piano)


 
Wednesday, August 03 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Melissa Chatham calls to Emily Aubrey (fiddle), Robin Wilson (flute, concertina, sax) and Janina O'Brien (piano).
 
Monday, August 08 2016 
English Country Dance
Diane Schmit calls to Emily Aubrey (violin), Mark Vidor (accordion), and Judy Meyers (piano)
 
Wednesday, August 10 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Alexandra Deis-Lauby calls to Unbowed: Jamie O'Brien (guitar), Henry Koretzky (mandolin), Bruce Campbell (bass). New dancer orientation at 7:30 pm.
 
Saturday, August 13 2016 
2nd Saturday Dance

Caroline Barnes, calls to Ricochet:
Featuring Rya Martin (piano), Walter Hojka (fiddle) and Brian Hamshar (clarinet).
Workshop for beginners starts at 7:30pm. Bring a snack & bring a friend.
 
Monday, August 15 2016 
English Country Dance
Mike Franch calls to Barbara Gorin (violin), Robin Wilson (flute, concertina), and Carl Friedman (piano)
 
Thursday, August 18 2016 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:00-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Monday, August 22 2016 
English Country Dance
Ann Fallon calls to Emily Aubrey (violin), Dave Crandall (flute, sax), and Judy Meyers (piano)
 
Wednesday, August 24 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Perry Shafran calls to Triple Helix: Colleen Reed (flute, sax), Keith Gillis (guitar), and Alexander Mitchell (fiddle).
 
Sunday, August 28 2016 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at the Pickersgill Retirement Community
 
Monday, August 29 2016 
English Country Dance
Tom Spilsbury calls to Tina Chancey (violin), Robin Wilson (flute, concertina), and Liz Donaldson (piano, accordion)
 
Wednesday, August 31 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Janine Smith calls to the Old Time Jam Band.
 
Saturday, September 10 2016 
2nd Saturday Dance
Sargon de Jesus calls to Black Oranges:
Sarah Foard (fiddle), Gary Prince (guitar), and Manny Arciniega.
Workshop for beginners starts at 7:30pm. Bring a snack & bring a friend.

 
Wednesday, September 14 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Susan Taylor & Janine Smith call to the Dead Sea Squirrels: Cathy Mason (fiddle), Craig Edwards (fiddle), and Henry Yoshimura (guitar). New dancer orientation at 7:30 pm.
 
Thursday, September 15 2016 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:00-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Wednesday, September 21 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Sue Gola calls to the Baltimore Open Band.
 
Saturday, September 24 2016 
Gentle English Dance
The Caller will be Bob Farrall. The musicians will be Marty Taylor on recorder and concertina,
Brian Cardell on recorder and flute, and Francine Krasowska, piano.
 
Sunday, September 25 2016 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at the Pickersgill Retirement Community
 
Wednesday, September 28 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Andrea Nettleton calls to Rhapsody: Marty Taylor (whistles, concertina), Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Ralph Gordon (bass), and Dave Wiesler (guitar, piano). New dancer orientation at 7:30 pm.
 
Wednesday, October 05 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Donna Hunt calls.
 
Saturday, October 08 2016 
2nd Saturday Dance
Susan Taylor calls to Some Assembly


 
Thursday, October 20 2016 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:00-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Sunday, October 23 2016 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
Storytelling at the Pickersgill Retirement Community
 
Saturday, November 12 2016 
2nd Saturday Dance
Greg Frock calls to Frequent Flyers featuring Laura Light on fiddle, and ANita Anderson (from Seattle) on piano. and one more musician to be announced soon.
 
Thursday, November 17 2016 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:00-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Sunday, November 27 2016 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
We do not meet in November. Come join us for Tellabration!
 
Wednesday, December 07 2016 
Square/Contra Dance
Kathy Anderson calls.
 
Saturday, December 10 2016 
2nd Saturday Dance
Bob Isaacs calls to Contranella

Featuring: Megan Wobus Bellor on fiddle, John Wobus on piano, and Charley Belloron percussion, mandolin, and banjo.
 
Thursday, December 15 2016 (Member Sponsored) 
BFMS Open Sing
Open Sing at Guitars Of Pikesville - 7:00-9:30... $5.00 charge per person to go toward his rent. Help with this fee for students available.
 
Sunday, December 25 2016 
Fourth at Four Storytelling
We do not meet in December