Baltimore Folk Music Society

Share

Wednesday Night Contra & Square Dances


The Baltimore Folk Music Society presents American Contra and Square Dancing at 8:00 p.m. to 10:30 PM every Wednesday at Lovely Lane United Methodist Church, 2200 St. Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21218.

Admission is $9 for members, $13 for nonmembers. Under 21 and full-time students with IDs: $4 members, $6 non-members.

All dances are taught and walked through beforehand. Music and dance styles include New England, Southern Appalachian, and Celtic styles. Nationally-known musicians and callers appear regularly. These dances are sponsored in part by a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council.

New Dancers' workshops:
Free workshops introducing basic contra dance figures take place every Wednesday at 7:30p.m. Beginners are encouraged to attend.

See our Contra dance FAQs for general information on Contra Dances

Please see our Behavior Policy

For more information call the BFMS hotline at 888-646-BFMS or email amdance at bfms.org.

Directions to Lovely Lane Church

Facebook Group
Check our Facebook group for the latest information.

Wednesday, March 04 2020 
Perry Shafran calls to the Baltimore Open Band!
 
Wednesday, March 11 2020 
Anne Lutun calls to OK Boomer - Steve Hickman (fiddle), David Crandall (flute, sax), Ralph Barthine (guitar), and TBA (bass).
 
Wednesday, March 18 2020 
Anna Rain calls to David Giusti (fiddle) and Jacob Howley (guitar).
 
Wednesday, March 25 2020 
TBA calls to Backstep Cindy - Sandy Hofferth (fiddle), Howard Zane (banjo), and Joe Langley (guitar).
 
Wednesday, April 01 2020 
Greg Frock calls to Laura Light (fiddle), Susan Brandt (flute), and Charlie Pilzer (piano).
 
Wednesday, April 15 2020 
TBA calls to the Dead Sea Squirrels
 
Wednesday, April 22 2020 
TBA calls to Devine Comedy - Steve Hickman (fiddle), Marty Taylor (pennywhistle, concertina), and John Devine (guitar).
 
Wednesday, May 06 2020 
TBA calls to Taylor Among the Devils
 
Wednesday, May 13 2020 
Megan Wilson calls to Red Toad Road
 
Wednesday, May 20 2020 
TBA calls to TBA
 
Wednesday, July 08 2020 
Janine Smith calls to the Wildmans Band.
 
Wednesday, October 14 2020 
TBA calls to Larry Unger and Friends.
 
Wednesday, October 21 2020 
Darlene Underwood calls to Hot Coffee Breakdown -Tom Cunningham (fiddle), Kate Sanders (keyboard), and Luis DeLeon (percussion).